MUMBAI, Jan 15 (The CONNECT) – In a thrilling conclusion to the Siyaram’s Blind National Cricket Tournament, Gujarat has once again showcased its cricketing excellence by winning the final match against Maharashtra at Islam Gymkhana in Mumbai. The tournament, which saw participation from eight teams including Gujarat, Maharashtra, Karnataka, Goa, Delhi, Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, and Rajasthan, culminated in a gripping final that had fans on the edge of their seats.

The final points table read:

No. Team Played Won Lost
1. Gujarat 4 4 0
2. Maharashtra 4 3 1
3. Delhi 3 2 1
4. Goa 3 2 1
5. Rajasthan 3 1 2
6. Uttar Pradesh 3 1 2
7. Karnataka 3 1 2
8. Madhya Pradesh 3 0 0

Maharashtra, after winning the toss, elected to bat first, setting a target of 107 for Gujarat. The match saw an impressive performance from Yogesh, who scored a resilient 54 not out.

Gujarat, true to its reputation, chased down the target, thanks to a spectacular batting display by Ketan Patel and skipper Sanjay Daroda, who scored 54 and 48 not out respectively. The victory was a testament to the team’s consistent performance throughout the tournament. Sanjay Daroda was awarded the Player of the match for his batting display and fielding brilliance resulting in 2 run outs.

Ramesh Poddar, CMD, Siyaram Silk Mills Ltd., expressed his admiration for the spirit of the tournament, said the sheer determination and talent displayed in this tournament are incredibly inspiring. Siyaram’s is committed to nurturing these qualities and providing a stage for such remarkable athletes.

There are 3 categories in blind cricket B1 (4 players), B2 (4 players) and B3 (3 players). Players in the B1 category are completely blind, B2 category players are 75 percent blind while the B3 category players are 60 percent blind. This year’s edition has not only provided a competitive platform but also brought to the forefront the sheer tenacity and skill of all the cricketers involved.